SwiftKit News

Celebrate 10 years of RuneScape, SK style!

Celebrating 10 years of RuneScape with a Castle Wars event

RuneScape is turning 10 and SwiftKit are throwing a party to celebrate the milestone in style!

We are going to hold two Castle Wars events during the official 10th Anniversary events period. Both the SwiftKit staff and the community thoroughly enjoyed the last Castle Wars event we held - so why not do it again!

We've been keen supporters of both Jagex and RuneScape since 2004 - just after the release of RuneScape 2, when the first ever SwiftSwitch (the predecessor of SwiftKit) client was created for the Imperial Hellkites Clan. In those 6 years, SwiftKit has grown dramatically - having been downloaded over 2.4 million times and is used by many thousands of people simultaneously. It is only fit that we throw an equally massive party event to celebrate RuneScape's 10th anniversary!

We've tailored the time of the events so that each country should have a good opportunity to attend.

Below are the details for the events, which can also be found in the Events Hub in SwiftKit.

Event: Castle Wars
World: 48 for Event 1, 112 for Event 2.
Date: 12th for Event 1 and 14th January for Event 2.

Times:

(Event 1) 2am London (Jan 13), 3am Paris (Jan 13), 8pm US/Central, 6pm US/Pacific, 7pm US/Mountain, 12pm Queensland (Jan 13), 1pm Sydney (Jan 13), 3pm Auckland (Jan 13)
(Event 2) 9am London, 10am Paris, 3am US/Central, 1am US/Pacific, 2am US/Mountain, 7pm Queensland, 8pm Sydney, 10pm Auckland

Requirements: None, but bring some combat gear to get the most enjoyment!

We will be using two methods of communication during the event:

IRC

Channel #SwiftKit
Server: SwiftIRC (irc.swiftirc.net)

Teamspeak 3

Host: ts.swiftkit.net
Port: 9987
Channel: Saradomin or Zamorak depending on what team you choose

Remember, if you mention 'SwiftKit' in game, you run the risk of being muted or banned (advertising non-supported fansites is against the rules).



We hope to see you all out in full force! Make sure to arrive early, as the last time we held an event, the world was maxed at 2000 players.

By the way, an invitation has been extended to Jagex to attend the event - but as you can imagine, they may be somewhat hostile to the idea. Just kidding! Our two events have been added to Jagex's "Epic party list"!! They might decide to crash now after all!

Mak
Head of Public Relations

Posted by Mak in Featured, Community, SwiftKit Mac News | 09/01/11 | 21 Comments



Comments

#21
dwevwigd @ 27 2016 09:45 pm

1


#20
rsqosjvo @ 09 2014 07:55 pm

1


#19
Long3Sword @ 19 2012 08:10 am

Yh Swiftkit is amazing #1 yeah BOIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII


#18
Dameanor @ 04 2011 09:06 pm

I know this already passed, but either way Strider3282 if you see this comment, hopefully you'll remember me. I was a member of IHC and you let me be one of the first testers for the client and I use to mod the chat, anyways when I think back on some of the fun times on rs when we played, IHC is always what comes up first, so cheers on the 10 year celebration and thanks for all the good times way back when. Peace.


#17
Boom @ 10 2011 07:32 am

Those who have school/work in the UK (most people) will not be able to attend either events.
Including me.
I'd imagine there's a fair share of UK SK users out there!


#16
TheCraft @ 14 2011 09:10 am

I thought mentioning SwiftKit in game was fine now... O.o


#15
long2sword @ 14 2011 07:55 am

@ Unknown Might I ask what +rep means?


#14
Predsfan 29 @ 13 2011 08:15 pm

AHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!! Never been to a Swiftkit event before (just tbh) :) I'll most definitely be coming, although 3am is a bit late... I'll try and be there!!


#13
dragom130 @ 13 2011 01:24 am

great idea i justwish it wouldnt be 2am whenit happend lol


#12
Unknown @ 12 2011 04:11 pm

@long2sword +rep


#11
Mouth @ 12 2011 12:09 pm

Great Idea!


#10
Lagrangge @ 11 2011 05:11 am

nice :D. WE ARE GOING TO OWN ALL IN SWIFTKIT EVENT ;)


#9
Mak @ 10 2011 01:54 pm

We have tried to please everyone. It's unfortunate that the official events period for 10th anniversary only runs until the 14th. We would have preferred it on a weekend so times could be more flexible.

The times are fine assuming no daytime commitments.

The reason Event 1 is so late for UK is so that it's prime-time for the US, who by far dominate our userbase.

The reason Event 2 is so early US is so it's at a reasonable time for Jagex to -potentially- attend (9am) and a good time for major people involved with SwiftKit: see Strider3282 and dTwizy who are both Australians, to attend.

If you can't make it - don't worry, we'll definitely be holding more events in the future. Feel free to post your ideas on the forums.


#8
Xcallimentor @ 10 2011 12:40 pm

nice.


#7
SoupOnHerHed @ 10 2011 11:21 am

Would be nice to have more UK friendly events, 2am and 9am? Perfect for those sad ones who prefer to play RS than school or work..


#6
Wibble199 @ 10 2011 07:47 am

Why are they both so early on in the day?
I won't be able to attend because I have school at those time >:|


#5
swim @ 09 2011 09:08 pm

put the better rs in


#4
Jaybear @ 09 2011 08:52 pm

This'll be fun guys. I'll be there!


#3
Pete Muthafawkin Smith @ 09 2011 08:06 pm

dank


#2
Chilla @ 09 2011 06:45 pm

SWEET.


#1
long2sword @ 09 2011 05:21 pm

I wouldnt mind this at all :P lol I went to last one and it was nuts, congratz on making it this far too Runescape AND SwiftKit and its teams, you all have done good for the world and made things alot easier, people would call me a geek, but I see it as if it keeps the time going, and the life alot easier, why not do it!!!!


Add Comment






Remember Me | Forget Me

© 2004 - 2013 - Bluelight Dev. All rights reserved.
This site is in no way affiliated with Jagex Ltd. ToS - Find us on Google+